In Oregon, women older than 18 years of age can obtain birth control tablets from a pharmacy without needing a doctor’s prescription. According to the new law effective from January 1, 2016, Oregonians can obtain pharmacist-prescribed birth control tablets. The law makes it mandatory for the pharmacists to undergo training before being allowed to dispense birth control tablets to patients. In spite of the law, women are still recommended to obtain medical assistance from doctors before consuming birth control tablets. Oregon has become the first American state to enforce the change with California following.
Oregonians have to fill out a questionnaire and consult the pharmacist to get the contraceptive pills. Women who are less than 18 years old need to fill out a questionnaire that a pharmacist will utilize to decide whether to give a prescription. Pharmacists have the liberty to decline prescriptions for religious causes but have to refer a buyer to another pharmacist.
Promoters of women’s rights are pleased with the news as now women do not have to pay long visits to doctors to get examined themselves and get birth control tablets. The law promoted by a representative who is incidentally a doctor was approved by the Oregon House with 50 members for and ten members against.
Regular visits to an Obstetrician -Gynecologist are still advised for women as some are concerned will prevent younger folk from checkups. As per the CDC (Center for Disease Control), cervical cancer is the simplest cancer of the reproductive system that can be detected and cured by regular medical checkups.
Although birth control tablets don’t offer protection against STDs and have some side effects, it is more potent than other methods of prescription. Doctors who can educate you regarding the pros and cons of the tablets often don’t as they are very busy or assume you have the knowledge.
Other fresh laws in Oregon for the start of 2016 are automated registrations for voters, paid sick leaves for the employed and an alteration of phrasing on Oregon marriage licenses and in other similar documents from “wife and husband” to “spouses in legal marriage”. Roughly 300 approved bills in Oregon became law on January 1 2016.