Bangalore August 25, 2015: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in the Bengaluru Civic Polls when latest news came in. The counting of results is taking place today in Bengaluru.

When last reports came in, the results were as below:

BJP leading in 83 seats

Congress leading in 61 seats

JD (S) leading in 11 seats.

Others leading in 7 seats

The elections for the Bangalore Municipal Corporation – Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) was held for 197 seat in 6,463 booths on August 24, 2015.

Around 18,000 police personnel and 7,000 home guards were deployed for security to avoid any untoward incidents in the 700 hyper sensitive and 1,990 sensitive booths.

Check the final results at

Click to watch TV9 Kannada news live!

The BJP had won the previous civic body elections held in 2010. IT had won 116 seats while the Congress had bagged 62 seats. the Devegouwda led JD (S) had won 14 and independent candidates had won the rest.

The voting turn-out was very poor this year. Infosys ‘ NR Narayanamurthy said after he voted,, “The first step in cleaning up our city is coming out to vote. If you don’t vote you should not complain.”